[maxbutton id=”1″ text=”About IAS” ]

The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the premier administrative civil service of the Government of India. IAS officers hold key and strategic positions in the Union Government, States and public-sector undertakings. Like in various countries (example UK) following Parliamentary system, IAS as the permanent bureaucracy in India forms an inseparable part of the executive branch of the Government of India thus providing continuity and neutrality to the administration. Unlike Candidates selected to other civil services, a person once appointed to Indian Administrative Service or Indian Foreign Service(IFS) becomes ineligible to reappear in Civil Services Examination conducted by Union Public Service Commission because there are no higher civil services other than aforementioned two services under Government of India. IAS is the highest administrative post among the 24 services like IPS, IFS etc. IAS is the permanent bureaucracy in India and forms a part of the executive branch. It is one of the three All India Services, its cadre can be employed by both the Union Government, the State Governments and public-sector undertakings

Along with the Indian police and forest services, the IAS is one of the three All India Services—its cadre can be employed by both – the Union Government and the States. Apart from this IAS officials along with their counterparts from Indian Foreign Service are posted in various International Org. like in the UN and it’s agencies, World Bank and IMF etc. either representing India or working under them on deputations. They can also be deputed to relevant divisions of Indian Embassies and consulates along with Indian Foreign Service officers if and when required. Along with Indian diplomats they represent India or forms part of the delegations in Intergovernmental conferences and International summits. IAS officers at various levels of administration plays a vital role in conducting free, fair and smooth elections in India under the direction of Election Commission of India and states.

[maxbutton id=”1″ text=”What is IAS Exam?” ]

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the Civil Services Examination and one of the toughest competitive exams in India. It is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for the recruitment of officers for the All India Administrative civil service.

[maxbutton id=”1″ text=”Eligibility Criteria” ]


  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • Candidate must be a citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan
  • Candidate must be a Tibetan Refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 to be settled permanently in India
  • Candidate must be person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zaire, or Zambia with an intention of permanently settling in India

Educational Qualification:

Candidate applying for civil service exams is required to fulfill the following criteria:

  • Candidate must hold a Bachelor’s Degree from any of the recognised universities
  • Candidates who have appeared for the qualifying examination and are awaiting results or those who are yet to appear for the qualifying examination are also eligible for the Preliminary Examination. Such candidates have to produce proof of passing the said examination along with the application for the Main Examination.
  • Candidates with professional and technical qualifications recognised by the Government or its equivalent are also elgible to apply
  • Candidates who have passed the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but are yet to complete the internship can also appear for the Main Examination.
  • However, they must submit a certificate from the concerned University that they have passed the final professional medical examination.

[maxbutton id=”1″ text=”age limit” ]

A candidate should be minimum 21 years and maximum 32 years old as on  August 01, 2017.

The upper age limit prescribed above is relaxable for the following candidates:

  • 5 years – Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) 3 years – Other Backward Classes (OBC)
  • 5 years – if a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January, 1980 to the 31st December, 1989.
  • 3 years – Defence Services personnel 5 years – ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least
  • 5 years Military Service as on 1st August, 2017 5 years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs 10 years – Blind, deaf-mute and orthopedically handicapped persons

[maxbutton id=”1″ text=”Number of attempts:” ]

Restriction on the maximum number of attempts is effective since 1984:

  • For General Candidates: 6 attempts.
  • Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST): No Limits.
  • Other Backward Classes (OBC): 9 attempts.